Dynamic systems that are described by linear, constant-coefficient, differential equations are called *linear time-invariant* (LTI) *systems*.

## 2. Transfer Function of Linear Time-Invariant (LTI) Systems

The transfer function of a linear, time-invariant system is defined as the ratio of the Laplace transform of the output (response function),  $Y(s) = \mathcal{L}{y(t)}$ , to the Laplace transform of the input (driving function)  $U(s) = \mathcal{L}{u(t)}$ , under the assumption that all initial conditions are zero.

$$u(t) \longrightarrow$$
 System differential equation  $\longrightarrow$   $y(t)$ 

Taking the Laplace transform with zero initial conditions,

$$U(s) \longrightarrow$$
 System transfer function  $Y(s)$ 

Transfer function: G(s

$$(s) = \frac{Y(s)}{U(s)}$$

A dynamic system can be described by the following time-invariant differential equation:

$$a_{n} \frac{d^{n} y(t)}{dt^{n}} + a_{n-1} \frac{d^{n-1} y(t)}{dt^{n-1}} + \dots + a_{1} \frac{dy(t)}{dt} + a_{0} y(t)$$
$$= b_{m} \frac{d^{m} u(t)}{dt^{m}} + b_{m-1} \frac{d^{m-1} u(t)}{dt^{m-1}} + \dots + b_{1} \frac{du(t)}{dt} + b_{0} u(t)$$

Taking the Laplace transform and considering zero initial conditions we have:

$$(a_n s^n + a_{n-1} s^{n-1} + \dots + a_1 s + a_0) Y(s) = (b_m s^m + b_{m-1} s^{m-1} + \dots + b_1 s + b_0) U(s)$$

The transfer function between u(t) and y(t) is given by:

$$G(s) = \frac{Y(s)}{U(s)} = \frac{b_m s^m + b_{m-1} s^{m-1} + \dots + b_1 s + b_0}{a_n s^n + a_{n-1} s^{n-1} + \dots + a_1 s + a_0} = \frac{M(s)}{N(s)}$$

where G(s) = M(s)/N(s) is the transfer function of the system; the roots of N(s) are called *poles* of the system and the roots of M(s) are called *zeros* of the system. By setting the denominator function to zero, we obtain what is referred to as the *characteristic equation*:

$$a_{n}s_{n} + a_{n-1}s^{n-1} + \dots + a_{1}s + a_{0} = 0$$

We shall see later that the stability of linear, SISO systems is completely governed by the roots of the characteristic equation.